RSAB

The 'Floralies' have a fascinating and flourishing history related to Ghent. They touch the heart of many people, including not only persons living in Ghent but all those who know Ghent as the 'flower city'. 


Ghent Floralies wishes to continue to inspire these people and therefore aims at a more permanent action. Small and large initiatives will be developed and we will participate in a number of projects with a focus on the value of plants as green and living building blocks. This way, we want to create and maintain a healthy, natural and sustainable environment.

 

When organizing these projects or participating in them, we always interact with social trends, both in urban or local contexts. The Floralies Community is our backbone here: a network of people with a heart for flowers and plants which is meant to initiate action.
Click here for more information.


The organization behind the Ghent Floralies festival, the Royal Society for Agriculture and Botany (RSAB), exists for 208 years. The society owes its royal title to King William I, King of the Netherlands, who accepted to become its patron in 1815. The very first flower and plant exhibition was held in an inn in Ghent in 1809 and has since undergone spectacular growth and evolution. In 2016, the Floralies festival left the Flanders Expo halls and came back to the city.

In 2020, Ghent Floralies returns to its roots in the initial Floralies hall. Flowers and plants will be the central elements of the event again.

 

FLEMISH HORTICULTURE & HISTORY

In the field of floriculture and plant-breeding, Ghent and its surroundings have been writing history for centuries. For many years, plants and herbs from different parts of the world have been imported and collected in the city, and Ghent became internationally renowned for that. It is therefore not surprising that the Floralies festival was created exactly in Ghent, the center of floriculture.

 

Mission – Motivation (who are we)

RSAB – Floralies wants to contribute to the happiness and well-being of people by inspiring them and supporting them in their need to create and maintain a healthy, natural and sustainable living and working environment.

That is why we encourage and promote the Horticulture of today and tomorrow, by spreading the value of flowers and plants – living building blocks for people and society – in all its forms and applications.

 

Vision – Dream for the future and contribution to society (what difference do we make)

° As a reference center, RSAB-Floralies wants to be a sustainable, connecting and central party, that brings together all stakeholders in and around the Horticulture sector, and a large audience.

° Our aim is to initiate or participate in events focusing on flowers and plants, their applications and innovations. By doing so, we wish to inform, inspire and engage participants/visitors in order to build a healthy, natural and sustainable environment.

° The permanent construction of an engaged, enthusiastic community of members, volunteers, sponsors and enthusiasts, who subscribe to our vision and values and who wish to actively contribute to them.

° The protection and unlocking of its heritage for all interested parties.

 

RSAB - Floralies gives Horticulture its broadest meaning, including (1) the production of all possible cultivated horticultural products, from cut flowers to pot plants over shrubs and trees in open ground; edible as well as non-edible and (2) all conceivable applications of these products in floristics, landscaping, urban horticulture, landscaping, forestry ... 

Similarly, the Belgian horticultural sector, or simply the Sector, is also given a broad meaning as follows: those who develop, produce and market horticulture products and their applications as a primary economic activity. (researchers, breeders, seeds and young plant companies, production companies, wholesale, garden centers and flower shops, florists, garden and landscape architects, garden contractors, new business models, ...)

Being a partner of Floraliën has its advantages

logo Floraliën Gent
Location

  • Gent ICC - Citadelpark
  • Van Rysselberghedreef 2 b 1
  • 9000 Gent

Société royale d'Agriculture et de Botanique de Gand

SRAB

Afin de continuer à inspirer, Floraliën  opte pour une activité plus permanente. De petites et grandes initiatives sont en cours de développement et un certain nombre de projets sont mis en œuvre dans lesquels l’accent est mis sur la valeur de la plante en tant que fondement écologique, et ce afin de créer et de maintenir un environnement sain, naturel et durable.  

L’organisation de projets ainsi que la participation à d’autres répondent toujours aux tendances sociales, aussi bien dans les contextes urbains que locaux. L’épine dorsale de ces projests est la Communauté des Floraliën, un réseau qui incite à l’action en réunissant celles et ceux qui ont à cœur le monde des fleurs et des plantes.
Pour plus d'informations : www.gentsefloralien.be

La Société royale d'Agriculture et de Botanique (SRAB), l’organisation à l'origine desFloraliën, existe depuis 208 ans. Elle doit son titre royal au roi Guillaume Ier, roi des Pays-Bas qui, en 1815, accepta le titre de protecteur. La toute première exposition de fleurs et de plantes eut lieu en 1809, dans une auberge gantoise, et connut depuis une croissance et une évolution spectaculaires. En 2016, les Floralies quittèrent les halls d’exposition de Flanders Expo et regagnèrent la ville.

En 2020, les Floralies retrouveront leurs racines dans le Palais des Floralies. Les fleurs et les plantes bénéfieront à nouveau d’une place centrale. 

HORTICULTURE ET HISTOIRE FLAMANDES
Gand et ses environs sont réputés depuis des siècles pour la culture des fleurs et des plantes. Pendant de nombreuses années, des plantes et des herbes aromatiques de différentes parties du monde furent importées et collectées dans la ville. Gand acquit ainsi un nom et une renommée internationales. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que c’est précisément à Gand, synonyme de centre de l’horticulture, que sont nées les Floraliën.

Mission – Motivation (qui sommes-nous)
SRAB – Floralies veulent contribuer au bonheur et au bien-être des personnes en les inspirant et en les aidant à créer et à maintenir un cadre de vie et de travail sain, naturel et durable.

C’est la raison pour laquelle nous encourageons et promouvons la culture horticole d’aujourd’hui et de demain, en faisant part de la valeur des fleurs et des plantes – pièces de construction vivantes tant pour la population que pour la société –, sous toutes ses formes et applications.

 Vision – Rêve pour le futur et contribution à la société (que signifions-nous)
° SRAB – Floraliën se veut, en tant que centre de référence, un parti durable, interconnectant et central, réunissant toutes les parties prenantes dans et autour de la culture horticole, avec un large public.
° Nous souhaitons initier ou participer à des événements où les fleurs et les plantes, leurs applications et leurs innovations sont à l'honneur. De cette manière, nous voulons informer, inspirer et inciter les participants / visiteurs à créer un cadre de vie sain, naturel et durable.
° L’élaboration permanente d’une communauté de membres engagés et enthousiastes, de bénévoles, de sponsors et d’amateurs, qui souscrivent à notre vision et à nos valeurs et qui souhaitent y contribuer activement.
° Protéger et rendre accessible son patrimoine pour toutes les parties intéressées.

 

SRAB – Floralies attribuent à la culture horticole le sens le plus large, comprenant (1) la production de tous les produits horticoles cultivés possibles, des fleurs coupées aux plantes en pot en passant par les arbustes et les arbres en pleine terre ; ce qui est comestible et non comestible, ainsi que (2) toutes les applications imaginables de ces produits en floristique, jardiniers, horticulture urbaine, aménagement paysager, foresterie ...

Parallèlement, le secteur horticole belge ou simplement dit « le Secteur », est également pris au sens large de : ceux qui développent, produisent et commercialisent des produits horticoles et leurs applications en tant qu’activité économique principale (chercheurs, spécialistes de la culture sélective des plantes, sociétés de production de semences et de jeunes plants, sociétés de production, grossistes, centres de jardinage et magasins de fleurs, floristiciens, architectes de jardins et paysagistes, entrepreneurs de jardinage, nouveaux modèles commerciaux, ...)

Être partenaire de Floraliën a ses avantages

logo Floraliën Gent
Location

  • Gent ICC
  • Van Rysselberghedreef 2 b 1
  • Citadelpark
  • 9000 Gent