Jury and competitions

The renowned members of the jury have been announced for the 2020 Floraliën. They will assess the exhibitors who participate in the floral event in Ghent in 2020. 

Each member of the jury is familiar with the sector and has many years’ horticultural experience. Their participation is entirely voluntary, stemming from their interest and passion. They feel it is an honour to judge the entries.

In total there are thirteen categories in which accolades are given. The members of the jury are selected based on their expertise.
Laurence Machiels (B) is chairman of the jury.


The artistic jury consists of five members who decide on the “Award for the most beautiful small exhibit”, the “Award for the most beautiful large exhibit” and the “Creativity Award”.

Malin Hidesätter (Zweden) - Tinneke Bogaert (B) - Joke Raes (B) - Emilio Ruiz Mateo (Sp)


The press jury determines the “Press Award” (the image of the 2020 Floraliën) and “Future Award” (most visionary exhibit).

Luc Noël (B) - Jasker Kamp (Nl) - Arnaud Bertin (F) - Jinge Lim (B) - Marie-Noëlle Cruysmans (B)


The outdoor jury determines the “Award for the most beautiful shrub or tree”, the “Award for the most beautiful perennial” and the “Award for the most beautiful balcony plant”.

Didier Willery (F) - Abraham Rammeloo (B) - Chistophe Crock (B) -  Elisabeth Ryelandt (B)


The indoor jury decides on the “Award for the most beautiful indoor plant”, the “Award for the most beautiful flowering indoor plant” and the “Award for the most beautiful Ghent Azalea”.

Steven Dessein (B) - Els Mechant (B) - Gisèle Croq (Fr) - Marc Verachtert (B) - Judith Baehner (NL)

logo Floraliën Gent

  • Gent ICC - Citadelpark
  • Van Rysselberghedreef 2 bus 3
  • 9000 Gent
Social media